top of page

Special Session 3 & SINE DIE IV – Commissioners Out and In

Gov. Tom Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan lead departing MMB Commissioner Myron Franson, newly appointed MMB Commissioner Jim Schowalter and Brigadier General Shawn Manke who will serve as Minnesota’s next Adjutant General to a news conference for the announcement of Gov. Walz’s new cabinet members.

Speaker Melissa Hortman gaveled the House to order for the third special session of 2020. The special session was necessary to extend Gov. Tim Walz’s executive emergency powers related to the Covid-19 pandemic. After three tries the Senate failed again to take away Gov. Walz’s executive powers when the House approved of the extension


The House and Senate then passed SSSF1 & SSHF1, a bill that would provide $30 million in grant assistance for disability service providers.

Before adjourning the brief one-day special session sine die, the Senate removed Dept. of Labor and Industry Commissioner Nancy Leppink. The Senate minority claimed they were ambushed and objected during a debate on Commissioner Leppink’s confirmation. The Senate majority is planning to hold more hearings on other disagreements they have with commissioners in Gov. Walz’s cabinet before taking confirmation votes.

Away from the Capitol, Gov. Tim Walz appointed Jim Schowalter his new MMB Commissioner after MMB Commissioner Myron Frans left for a position at the U of M and Brigadier General Shawn Manke was named the next Adjutant General during a news conference at the Revenue Building.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page